Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Work Centre - Setup Hours
11-08-2018, 04:44 AM
Post: #1
Work Centre - Setup Hours
In the WorkCentre table there is a field named "setuphrs" but I can find no references in any of the code.

Is this some sort of future feature that is in progress?

https://www.linkedin.com/in/eclipsepaulbecker
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-08-2018, 09:14 AM
Post: #2
RE: Work Centre - Setup Hours
Never mind... I see this was never fully implemented...

https://www.linkedin.com/in/eclipsepaulbecker
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2018, 07:36 AM
Post: #3
RE: Work Centre - Setup Hours
How about we finish up SetupHrs and write it as a GL entry when the WO is closed (WIP <> WC GL Code)? As long as the quantity is > 0 at WO close doesn't this seem reasonable?

All we need to do is bring over the WC Code along with the part when it goes on the WO...

https://www.linkedin.com/in/eclipsepaulbecker
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2018, 01:21 PM
Post: #4
RE: Work Centre - Setup Hours
I am thinking this is a toughie ... we need a routing ... or a labour item in the BOM as we currently have which is set up against the applicable work centre and this routing would need to be established based on the normal EOQ/run-size to account for the set up time.

Phil Daintree
webERP Admin
Logic Works Ltd
http://www.logicworks.co.nz
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2018, 08:44 PM (This post was last modified: 11-09-2018 10:44 PM by VortecCPI.)
Post: #5
RE: Work Centre - Setup Hours
Agreed but in small facilities the setup time could be fixed per WC or we could have one WC with multiple entires using different SetupHrs as needed for BoM context.

For example we have things like DoALL and Bridgeport and setup time is always about the same. Though these are actually Resources and not WCs it is close enough.

In my opinion we are a very long way from true routing (i.e., Operation(s) > WorkCenter(s) > Resource(s))

I have already added WCs to MRP so it was just a thought...

http://www.weberp.org/forum/showthread.p...6#pid15166

https://www.linkedin.com/in/eclipsepaulbecker
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2018, 10:44 PM (This post was last modified: 11-09-2018 10:47 PM by VortecCPI.)
Post: #6
RE: Work Centre - Setup Hours
Perhaps:

+ Add GL entry for WC GL Account <> WIP at issue of WO
+ Add GL entry for WC GL Account <> WIP at close of WO

No matter how many pieces we make full setup will be realized unless total piece count is zero (i.e., no production occurred).

This is likely way more complicated than I realize. I am very familiar with routing but not with all the GL activity under the covers...

https://www.linkedin.com/in/eclipsepaulbecker
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-11-2018, 09:29 AM
Post: #7
RE: Work Centre - Setup Hours
Yes I agree we don't have true routing. However, I am not sure of the value of having the full operation sequence and routings except perhaps in very large organisations that can afford the necessary administration overhead that maintenance of such a system would entail.

Phil Daintree
webERP Admin
Logic Works Ltd
http://www.logicworks.co.nz
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-11-2018, 09:42 PM (This post was last modified: 11-11-2018 09:44 PM by VortecCPI.)
Post: #8
RE: Work Centre - Setup Hours
100% agreed which I why I feel if we could get setup time incorporated it would be a very good compromise.

In our case we need to blend batches of chemicals so setup time could be just a BoM item (we are ATO/CTO/PTO). However, in the case of most all my customers setup time can NOT be a line item in the BoM because the batch quantities vary greatly. In ETO and MTO environments setup time is a must. MTS can also be a problem if not using Economic Batch Quantity (i.e., batch sizes vary).

Perhaps just one GL entry at close of Work Order if quantity is greater than zero...

https://www.linkedin.com/in/eclipsepaulbecker
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)